3MPlanet Finalists

About 3MPlanet

In May 2021, the Centre for Energy Ethics invited all honours students at the University of St Andrews whose dissertation research explores topics related to energy, climate change and/or climate action, to its inaugural Three Minute Planet (3MPlanet) competition.

The students were asked to present a compelling spoken presentation on their research topic and its significance to climate action to a non-specialist audience, in just three minutes.

Their final competition entries are presented below.

Picking a Winner

The finalists, selected by the judging panel, received expert training in designing and delivering an engaging and convincing research presentation.


The winner and the runner up will be selected by the expert judging panel. The videos are available on social media for a period of public voting to decide a public vote candidate.


The judges will include:

  • Dr Antje Brown (Lecturer, School Geography and Sustainable Development)
  • Lea Weimann (Environment Officer, Student Association_
  • Dr Carlos Galan-Diaz (Deputy Director, Research & Innovation Services)

Public Vote

You can vote for your favourite on the St Andrews Engaged Facebook and Twitter! Simply like the post containing a link to your favourite presentation. Voting closes Midday BST Thursday, 17th June.

Attend the Final

The winner, the runner up and the public vote laureate will be announced during the 3MPlanet final on the 18th June 2021.

The event will be held online, and everyone is welcome to attend.

Register here.

See the Finalists below!

Georgina Steel

Alexandra Rive

Evdokia Kakouta

Geraint Morgan

Isabella Cuervo-Lorens

Cady Crowley

Camiel Leake

Noah Herfort